Fair Work Commission

The Fair Work Commission https://www.fwc.gov.au/ began in 1904 as the Commonwealth Court of Conciliation and Arbitration. It’s name and operations have undergone many changes over the years.

More recently, the commission was restructured as Fair Work Australia under the Fair Work Act 1999 http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/cth/consol_act/fwa2009114 and then renamed the Fair Work Commission in 2012.

The commission’s purpose is to help resolve workplace issues, disputes and dismissals.

The commission determines applications concerning:

  • unfair dismissal
  • discrimination
  • being denied, or punished for accessing or attempting to access, a workplace right
  • dismissal for a temporary absence from work due to illness or injury
  • employment as an independent contractor with the terms and conditions of an employee
  • workplace bullying
  • the application of an award
  • the application of an agreement
  • the bargaining process for a new enterprise agreement
  • taking protected industrial action
  • taking unprotected industrial action

The commission does not carry out investigations nor does it enforce its decisions or orders. Decisions or orders of the commission may be enforced through the courts.

The commission consists of a President, Vice President, Deputy Presidents and Commissioners. The current President is the Honourable Justice Iain Ross AO.

The commission has offices across Australia. The Sydney registry is located at Level 10, Terrace Tower, 80 William Street, East Sydney NSW 2011, tel (02) 8374 6666.


1300 00 2088

Mosman Solicitor & Notary

%d bloggers like this: