Dust Diseases Tribunal of NSW

ON 21 JULY 1989, the Dust Diseases Tribunal of NSW (DDT) http://www.dustdiseasestribunal.lawlink.nsw.gov.au/ was established through the enactment of the Dust Diseases Act 1989 http://www.legislation.nsw.gov.au/viewtop/inforce/act+63+1989+FIRST+0+N/.

The DDT is a specialist tribunal with the exclusive jurisdiction to determine damages claims for death or injury arising from dust-exposure related diseases such as asbestosis and mesothelioma. The tribunal’s special purpose is to serve the interests of justice by expediting claims in circumstances where the claimants are in the advanced stages of illness.

The first judge to hear a case in the tribunal was Judge J L O’Meally AM RFD a tribunal Member (1989 to 1995), Senior Member (1995 to 1998) and President (1998 to 2011).

The Tribunal’s current judges are:

  • President Justice R O Blanch AM
  • Judge J P Curtis
  • Judge W P Kearns SC
  • Judge Finnane RFD QC
  • Acting Judge P J Johns

The court is situated at 12th Floor, John Maddison Tower, 88 Goulburn Street, Sydney NSW 2000. For all enquiries call (02) 9377 5440.


1300 00 2088

Mosman Solicitor & Notary

%d bloggers like this: