Federal Circuit Court of Australia

The Federal Circuit Court of Australia http://www.federalcircuitcourt.gov.au/ first sat in 2000 as the Federal Magistrates Court of Australia and in 2012 was re-named the Federal Circuit Court of Australia.

The court exercises federal jurisdiction under the Australian Constitution, sharing the jurisdictions of the Federal Court and Family Court of Australia. The court hears federal matters such as administrative law, admiralty law, banking law, child support, copyright, family law, human rights, industrial law, privacy, and trade practices.

The court aims to offer a simpler and more convenient alternative to the Federal Court and the Family Court.

The court is presided over by a Chief Judge (currently Chief Judge John Pascoe AO CVO) and a number of Judges.

The court sits in the locations of the other federal courts. The main locations are in Melbourne, Dandenong, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane, Cairns, Darwin, Launceston, Hobart, Newcastle, Perth and Townsville. The court also conducts sittings in other metropolitan and regional areas.

The Sydney registry is located at the Federal Court registry, Law Courts Building, Level 17, Queens Square, Sydney NSW 2000, tel (02) 9230 8567. In Sydney the court sits at either John Maddison Tower, Level 6, 88 Goulburn Street, Sydney NSW 2000 or TTG Building, Levels 10 and 12, 80 William Street, Sydney NSW 2000.


Sydney, Australia

1300 00 2088