Supreme Court of NSW

The Supreme Court of NSW is the state’s highest court and has jurisdiction to deal with:

  • Civil matters of any amount.
  • Serious criminal matters.

The court’s functions are divided into:

  • Trial matters in the Common Law and Equity divisions.
  • Appeal matters in the Court of Appeal and Court of Criminal Appeal.

The court is presided over by a Chief Justice, President of the Court of Appeal, Judges of Appeal, Judges and Associate Judges. Some judicial functions are delegated to Registrars. The current Chief Justice is the Hon T F Bathurst AC and the President of the Court of Appeal is the Hon Justice Margaret Joan Beazley AO.

Proceedings of the Supreme Court are carried out at:

  • Law Courts Building, Queens Square, Sydney
  • St James Road Court, St James Road, Sydney
  • King Street Courthouse, Corner King and Elizabeth Streets, Sydney
  • Darlinghurst Courthouse, Taylor Square, Sydney
  • Wentworth Chambers, 180 Phillip Street, Sydney
  • Hospital Road Court Complex, Hospital Road, Sydney


Sydney, Australia

1300 00 2088